DRESONIC-JAMAICAN TRACK & FIELD

SUPPORT OUR JAMAICAN ATHLETES – LEAVE A COMMENT

Bolt takes sprint double at trials

Posted by Dresonic on June 30, 2009

Triple Olympic gold medallist Usain Bolt clocked 20.25 seconds in a strong negative wind of
(-2.4 m/s) to win the 200 metres and complete the sprint double as the 2009 Supreme Ventures National Senior Championships ended at the National Stadium in Kingston last night.

Sprint star Usain Bolt cruises to victory in the men’s 200m final at the Supreme Ventures National Senior Championships at the National Stadium last night. Steve Mullings (centre) was second while Ramone McKenzie finished fourth. (Photos: Bryan Cummings)

On a day that Olympic silver medallist Shawn Crawford posted a wind-assisted (+3.3) 19.73secs to win at the American trials, the world 100m and 200m world record holder Bolt, came off the curve well ahead of the field before cruising the last 50 metres to win ahead of Steve Mullings 20.40 and Marvin Anderson 20.63.

“I’m feeling alright (though) I’m a little tired after the rounds (three 100 and two 200) because I’m not really in the best shape of my life,” Bolt told the Observer. “I think I ran the corner pretty well and my coach will decide what we need to do to improve it,” added the 22-year-old sprinter.

“I think I’m still a little behind the schedule (when compared to 2008), but I have a lot of work to do to get back there and like how we’re leaving for Europe, there will not be any distractions,” Bolt said.

Running into a head wind of (-1.1), two-time Olympic champion Veronica Campbell-Brown, who missed the entire month of April with a toe injury, captured the female equivalent in 22.40secs.

“I have a little under two months before Berlin so I’m confident that I’ll be back in the shape that I need to win (the double),” Campbell-Brown said, who confessed that she was not fully recovered from her injury.

Olympic 200m gold medallist Veronica Campbe-Brown (left) powers to victory in the half-lap event at the Supreme Ventures National Senior Championships at the National Stadium last night. Simone Facey (right) finished third.

“I must admit that the five weeks that I’ve lost hurt me a little, but I’m staying positive and just continuing to train hard,” the reigning 100m champion and silver medallist in the 200m from 2007 added.

Olympic 100m gold medallist Shelly-Ann Fraser, who captured the 100m title on Saturday with 10.88, finished second behind Campbell-Brown with 20.58ecs, while 2008 NCAA champion Simone Facey was third with 22.96.

The women’s 200m was run as a straight final after two-time Olympic medallist Kerron Stewart and Commonwealth Games medallist Sheri-Ann Brooks, who placed second and third in the 100m on Saturday, withdrew from the half-lap event.

Two-time World Championships medallist Delloreen Ennis-London produced a late burst to overhaul early race leaders Lacena Golding-Clarke (12.89) and Brigitte Foster-Hylton (12.87) at the 10th and final hurdle to win the 100m event in a head wind of (-1.1 m/s).

Commonwealth Games champion Maurice Wignall easily won the men’s equivalent in 13.48 (wind -0.8 m/s) ahead of Dwight Thomas in 13.50 and Olympic finalist Richard Phillips in 13.61secs.

Although Olympic finalist and national record holder Kenia Sinclair retained her 800 metres title with a time of 2:01.63, she expressed dissatisfaction with the time.

“I was really hoping that I could have hit, like two minutes flat or one minute 59. I know I’m in better shape than two minutes 01, because I’ve already run sub- two minutes for the year and split one minute 57 at the Penn Relays,” Sinclair said.

Grenadian Neisha Nerard-Thomas posted 2:02.02 for second, while Marian Burnett of Guyana placed third with 2:04.72.

Aldwyn Sappleton retained the men’s crown with a time of 1:48.20secs, following a titanic sprint over the last 200 metres with Ricardo Cunningham, who lost by 0.01 second on the photo finish. Andre Drummonds placed third with 1 min. 50.49secs.

One Response to “Bolt takes sprint double at trials”

  1. ModernJAV, JAV Get Website, Free Japanese Films, Absolutely free Film Download, Free Adult Japanese Movies, Get Japanese Movies…

    […]Bolt takes sprint double at trials « DRESONIC-JAMAICAN TRACK & FIELD[…]…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
