DRESONIC-JAMAICAN TRACK & FIELD

SUPPORT OUR JAMAICAN ATHLETES – LEAVE A COMMENT

Campbell-Brown pleased with season’s progress

Posted by Dresonic on June 7, 2009

ORLANDO, Florida (CMC) – Top female sprinter Veronica Campbell-Brown has her sights set on being a tough competitor at the Jamaica national championships later this month.

Campbell-Brown… I ran 10.81 which is actually the fastest I’ve run under any conditions

The two-time Olympic 200 metres and reigning World 100 metres champion recently returned to competitive running, after a brief injury lay-off with an infected toe.

She made her first appearances for the 2009 international outdoor season last month with mixed results, but she was still satisfied with the way things had unfolded.

“I had my first race on May 23 in a low-keyed meet in Clerwater, Florida, and was quite satisfied with my performance,” said Campbell-Brown in her online diary appearing on the website of the sport’s world governing body, the IAAF.

“I ran 10.81 seconds (wind-aided) which is actually the fastest I have run under any conditions. My coach Lance Brauman was satisfied as well.

Jamaica’s most successful female sprinter added: “I then went to New York for my second race, the Reebok Grand Prix on May 30 (wish it was for shopping!), and there I finished third.

“Again, I am satisfied as the race revealed to me things that I need to address as I prepare for the rest of the season.

“Chances are that I will get another race in prior
to the Jamaican national championships which are at the end of June.”

Campbell-Brown admitted the last month had eventful, since she also celebrated her 27th birthday. She was born on May 15, 1982, and she noted the highlight was her husband Omar, also an athlete of some repute, surprising her with breakfast in bed.

She said: “I was served the national dish of Jamaica – ackee and cod fish – and I wished I could have more than one birthday per year!

“My track idol Merlene Ottey was also here in Orlando during this time, so the day was a memorable one!”

Campbell-Brown was also pleased to have attended a television interview on WPIX in New York which was an eye-opener.

“It was my first time sitting in a studio during a live broadcast and I was quickly aware of the similarities between our sport and live television broadcast as it relates to the importance of being timely,” she said.

“Every detail was time sensitive and everything seemingly moves so fast.”

Campbell-Brown concluded that now she has been given the full clearance to increase her training intensity, her goal would be to find her best form ahead of another gruelling season which also includes the World Championships in August in the German city of Berlin.

“I am looking forward to the rest of the 2009 season, competing in Europe and Asia and spending time in Greece where my group maintain it’s summer training base,”
she said.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
