DRESONIC-JAMAICAN TRACK & FIELD

SUPPORT OUR JAMAICAN ATHLETES – LEAVE A COMMENT

PowPow ready to rumble – its about time…!!!

Posted by Dresonic on May 20, 2009

Former 100 metres world record holder Asafa Powell says he is almost recovered from the left ankle injury which forced him to withdraw from the Qatar Grand Prix on May 8 after conceding he erred in competing at the 115th Penn Relays Carnival on April 25.

POWELL… everything is looking smooth right now because I’m trying not to make any more bad decisions.

“Everything is looking smooth right now because I’m trying not to make any more bad decisions. I made a bad decision to run at the Penn Relays. but now I’m just working, training hard and trying to get back the ankle to 100 per cent,” Powell told the Observer after training on Monday.

“I’d say I’m 90 per cent ready right now,” added the 2007 World 100m bronze medallist.

Running the anchor leg on Jamaica’s 4×100 team at the Penn Relays with his injured left ankle heavily strapped, Powell trotted to the finish line gingerly after aggravating the damage he sustained in training in early April.

A day before the race, Powell’s agent Paul Doyle indicated the second fastest man in the world would not compete in the sprint relay because he was feeling some discomfort in the ankle.

Now, with the injury almost fully healed and with 10 days to his next scheduled 100m race – at the New York Grand Prix on May 30 – Powell hopes to produce a worldleading mark.

“I don’t really have a time in mind, (but) it’s my second race (after Australia), so I want to go there and put down a benchmark because the fastest time for the year is 10-flat and that’s really nothing right now, so I want to go below that and continue from there, remaining on top,” a confident Powell said.

“Coming off last season, I made a promise to myself that I’m going to really come back and try to get below that 9.7 mark and got injured, but I’m still not going to let that stop me from achieving what I want this year,” he reasoned, noting that he hopes to be fourth time lucky at the Berlin World Championships in August.

Powell was disqualified after a false-start at the quarter-final stage at the 2003 Paris World Championships; missed the 2005 Helsinki edition with a groin injury, before giving up a lead at the Osaka 2007 World Championships to finish third.

The sprinter, who is three wins away from eclipsing American Maurice Greene’s record (52) of the most sub-10 clocking, believes he has finally got over the psychological problems which beset him at major championships.

“I find myself going into competitions with a different focus, so I think what we’re doing right now is really helping and we’re just working on every point that we think is weak. It’s just to wait on the World Championships and we’ll see what happens,” he declared.

Meanwhile, Powell expressed satisfaction with the performance of compatriot Usain Bolt, who showed no signs of discomfort while posting a world best 14.35 seconds in winning a 150-metre street race on Sunday in Manchester, England.

“It was a very good run. I’m sure he can do better because he’s just coming back (after his car accident), and he still represented well,” he reasoned.

“I’m really looking forward to competing with him this year because he did well last year and he knows that I’m still here breathing down his back and he can’t make any mistakes,” Powell added.

Bolt first erased Powell’s world record of 9.74secs at the New York Grand Prix with 9.72 before posting 9.69secs to win the Olympic 100m gold in Beijing.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
