DRESONIC-JAMAICAN TRACK & FIELD

SUPPORT OUR JAMAICAN ATHLETES – LEAVE A COMMENT

Dunkley denies doping – Follow Up Story – very interesting if you ask me….

Posted by Dresonic on July 30, 2008

DUNKLEY… no one has contacted me. Everything I’ve learnt is from the (news) paper

“I haven’t gotten in touch with anybody, but I did try because like I said, all the information that I’m finding out is like you guys (newspaper) calling me and telling me and me seeing the name of a drug (Boldenone) that I’ve never heard of in my life and making me look like some kind of idiot,” the self-coached athlete told the Observer from North Carolina yesterday.

“I’m looking at this drug and it’s in comparison with some kind of horse stuff. I mean, that’s ridiculous (because) I’ve never heard of it in my life,” added Dunkley, who clocked 10.23 seconds for sixth place in the Men’s 100-metre final at the National Track & Field Championship between June 27-29.

“I know you’re responsible for what you put in your body and I’m not a fool, that’s not something I’d put in my body by no means,” Dunkley explained.

“I don’t need it… I’m naturally big, I’m naturally strong; it’s not something I need… besides, I only ran 10.2 (seconds). Let’s be real, I didn’t run anything ridiculous and I tried my best, so it does seem far-fetched,” he added.

The three-day Trials were used to select Jamaica’s 53-member team to compete in the Olympics between August 15-24.

Dunkley’s withdrawal from the JOA’s list came hours after comments by president Michael Fennell who confirmed that the name of the athlete who had tested positive for Boldenone would be withdrawn from the Olympic team.

“The JOA, in accordance with its own rules and regulations and the IOC’s rules, has withdrawn the entry of the athlete,” Fennell told the Observer yesterday.

Contacted yesterday to confirm Dunkley’s removal from the official list because of a positive drug test, the JOA boss stayed cleared of the matter.

“Check with the JAAA (Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association),” Fennell said.

When the Observer contacted Garth Gayle, general secretary of the JAAA, he referred this reporter back to Fennell before boarding a flight to Beijing with local members of the athletics team.

In the meantime, when the Observer asked Dunkley if he had got verbal or written confirmation from either the JOA or JAAA that he had failed a drug test, the 32-year-old former student of East Carolina University replied:

“I notice that my name has been removed. Has anyone contacted me? No… Everything I’ve learnt is from the (news) paper,” the 2003 NCAA 60 metres gold medallist said, noting that it worries him that he has been taken off the team posted on the JOA website.

“Of course it concerns me… there are two things that I set out in my life to do when I was in Jamaica at a young age and it was to represent Jamaica,” added Dunkley, who said he served in the US army.

“I’m always glad for the fact that that’s (Jamaica) where I was born… and if my name is removed from the Olympic team of course that’s going to hurt,” he declared.

Fennell, meanwhile, said a written confirmation of the positive dope test was faxed to the athlete who failed the test at the National Trials.

Dunkley, who has personal best times of 10.07secs and 20.63 in the 100m and 200m respectively, said he will be leaving the United States for China tomorrow to join the 11-day pre-Olympic camp in Tianjin Province.

“My ticket is valid,” he said, adding that he should arrive in China on July 31.

One Response to “Dunkley denies doping – Follow Up Story – very interesting if you ask me….”

  1. Simply want to say your article is as astounding.
    The clearness for your publish is just nice and i could assume you are
    an expert on this subject. Fine along with your permission let me to clutch your RSS feed to keep updated with approaching post.
    Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding
    work.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
