DRESONIC-JAMAICAN TRACK & FIELD

SUPPORT OUR JAMAICAN ATHLETES – LEAVE A COMMENT

JAMAICA OLYMPIC TRIALS UPDATE – VERONICA MAKES A COME BACK IN 200M

Posted by Dresonic on June 30, 2008

Veronica Campbell-Brown rebounded from her disappointing fourth-placed finish in Saturday’s 100m final with a life-time best and world leading 21.94secs (wind 1.1 m/s) to win the 200 metres on yesterday’s third and final day of the Supreme Ventures National Senior Track and Field Championships at the National Stadium in Kingston.

OVERJOYED Veronica Campbell-Brown reacts after confirming her winning time, a personal best 21.94 seconds in the women’s 200 metres final at the Supreme Ventures National Senior Track and Field Championships at the National Stadium last night. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)

Running in lane three, Campbell-Brown produced an impressive start to take the lead off the corner before powering to the fourth fastest time ever by a Jamaican woman. Only national record holder Merlene Ottey (21.64), Grace Jackson (21.72), and Juliet Cutbert (21.75) have run faster than Campbell-Brown, who shaved 0.11 off her previous best of 22.05.

Campbell-Brown was understandably elated with securing her spot on the team to Beijing.

“The way my training has been going my coach (Lance Brauman) was very confident that I would run 21 (seconds) tonight as long as I executed,” she said. “Last night (Saturday) I don’t know what happened, but I was disappointed.it was just a shocker to me, but it’s just a part of life. I just had to bounce back and come out here and make sure that I’m on the Olympic team for an individual race,” the reigning world 100m champion explained, noting that she should be able to run 10.7 before the season is out.

Kerron Stewart, who won the 100m title on Saturday, took second in a career best 21.99secs, becoming the fifth fastest Jamaican woman over the half-lap event. Commonwealth champion Sherone Simpson was third 22.11secs.

World 100-metre record holder (9.72secs) Usain Bolt toyed with the field, shutting down with 60-metres remaining to stop the clock at 19.97secs. Bolt became the first man since Dwight Thomas in 2002 to take the sprint double.

Usain Bolt (centre) eases down towards the end of the men’s 200 metres final at the National Stadium last night. Bolt won in 19.97 seconds. At left is Nester Carter, while Ricardo Williams is at right. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)

“It feels good to be double champion, but the aim was just to come here and qualify and I did that, so I’m pretty satisfied with myself,” said Bolt. “I didn’t want to go too fast because I’ve gone through a lot (three rounds of 100 and two rounds of 200) this weekend,” the world 200m silver medallist added.

Marvin Anderson (20.17) and Christopher Williams (20.20) were second and third, respectively.

The youthful Rosemarie Whyte and the experienced Michael Blackwood obliged in the 400m metres, beating their more favoured opponents. Whyte produced a late burst in the last 30 metres to beat World Championships bronze medallist Novlene Williams-Mills at the tape in a life-time best 50.05secs.

“I knew I was going to run 50-point because of the training that I’ve been getting,” said Whyte, who is coached by Maurice Wilson at GC Foster College.

Williams-Mills was timed at 50.11 ahead of Shericka Williams, 50.33secs.

Blackwood rolled back the years to get the better of young ‘Turks’ Richard Chambers and defending champion Sanjay Ayre in a blanket finish. Blackwood got the nod in 45.21secs, while Chambers and Ayre were both credited with 45.24.

Blackwood told the Observer he never doubted that he would win. “I know that I have a strong base, so I knew I would finish strong.I never panicked at all, so I just held my composure and finish as strong as possible,” said Blackwood, who was winning his fourth national title, having done so in 2001, ’02 and ’03.

Two-time World Championship medallist Brigitte Foster-Hylton recovered from a poor start to storm through the field to nip defending champion Delloreen Ennis-London on the line for her fifth national title. The national record holder (12.45secs) produced a season-best 12.50 for the victory ahead of her good friend Ennis-London, 12.57secs. “That was really a lousy start.I really had to run past all the girls, they were all ahead of me, but I am confident in my speed and confident in my strength,” said Foster-Hylton, who also won national titles in 2002, ’03, ’05, ’06.

Ennis-London was equally satisfied to make her third Olympic team, having competed in Sydney (2000) and Athens (2004). “I stumbled over the third hurdle, I kind of lost it from there and then my last three hurdles I started to reach to ensure I made the team, so technically it wasn’t a good race, but I’m thankful that I’m on the team,” said Ennis-London, a former seven-time champion at this level. Vonette Dixon was third in 12.71secs.

The men’s equivalent went to Richard Phillips in 13.57secs ahead of Decosma Wright, 13.64, and eight-time former champion Maurice Wignall, 13.65secs.

Reigning 800 metres Commonwealth Games silver medallist Kenia Sinclair secured her fourth consecutive national tile by posting two minutes 01.46secs. The national record holder (1 minute, 57.88sces), who sustained an injury to her left Achilles in Friday’s preliminaries, came through 400m in 58.32secs. “I’m a little sour today (yesterday), but I still came out and did my best,” Sinclair said. “After the spiking incident of Friday I decided I was just going to take it easy and do whatever it was going to take to be the national champion of the 2008 Jamaica Olympic trials,” she added. Sinclair also secured national titles in 2005, ’06 and ’07. Neisha Bernard Thomas of Grenada (2:02.56) and Sheena Gooding (2:04.23) of Barbados, were second and third, respectively.

Alwyn Sappleton, who has only attained the Olympic ‘B’ (1:47.00) standard, captured the men’s equivalent in a pedestrian 1 minute, 48.45secs. It was Sappleton’s fourth straight lien on the national crown. He recorded the ‘B’ standard at last summer’s Pan American Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

3 Responses to “JAMAICA OLYMPIC TRIALS UPDATE – VERONICA MAKES A COME BACK IN 200M”

  1. pet said

    Bolt,Gay,Powel y powel is so unpredictable

  2. Links…

    [...]Sites of interest we have a link to[...]……

  3. Android VS Symbian…

    [...]JAMAICA OLYMPIC TRIALS UPDATE – VERONICA MAKES A COME BACK IN 200M « DRESONIC-JAMAICAN TRACK & FIELD[...]…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

