DRESONIC-JAMAICAN TRACK & FIELD

SUPPORT OUR JAMAICAN ATHLETES – LEAVE A COMMENT

BOLT, ASAFA, AND FRATER TOP 3 AT JAMAICA NATIONAL TRIALS

Posted by Dresonic on June 28, 2008

World record-holder Usain Bolt beat former record-holder Asafa Powell in the 100-meter final Saturday night in Jamaica’s Olympic trials, finishing in 9.85 seconds.

Powell was second in 9.97.

“We are good friends and that’s why I have been telling everyone that it won’t be a clash here,” Bolt said. “We just came to qualify for the Olympics, but in the end, I guess the crowd was a little disappointed with this.”

Last month in New York, Bolt ran a 9.72 to break Powell’s world record of 9.74.

“I just went out there to execute the first 50 and, in the end, I am very pleased with my performance,” Powell said. “The aim was to make the team and, I did that, so I am OK. … I’m just coming off an injury, so I did what I had to do.

Kerron Stewart won the women’s 100 in 10.80, the second-fastest time by a Jamaican woman ever. Shelly-Ann Fraster was second in 10.85, Sherone Simpson followed in 10.87 and world champion Veronica Campbell-Brown was fourth in 10.87.

“My aim first was to make the team. It wasn t about the time, but I am very pleased with 10.80 seconds,” Stewart said.

In the women s triple jump, Trecia Smith, the 2005 world champion, won at 44 feet, 8 inches. Mardrea Hyman (4:21.00) and Kevin Campbell (3:56.97) won the 1,500s, and Melaine Walker (54.58) and Danny McFarlane (48.68) took the 400 hurdles.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
