DRESONIC-JAMAICAN TRACK & FIELD

SUPPORT OUR JAMAICAN ATHLETES – LEAVE A COMMENT

Real Madrid-styled academy expected by next January

Posted by Dresonic on June 28, 2007

A football academy to benefit underprivileged children on the north coast should become operational by January 2008, following Tuesday’s signing of a declaration of intent between the Spanish-Jamaica Foundation and representatives of Spanish champions Real Madrid at the Rose Hall Complex.

According to Jesus Silva, Spain’s Ambassador to Jamaica who is also president of the Spanish-Jamaica Foundation – formed by the Spanish groups currently investing in Jamaica – the first phase of the proposed academy, which is being modelled on the Real Madrid Foundation’s Schools for Social Integration, is estimated to cost US$500,000.

“There is no problem of financial support for this project. I mean, the Spanish companies represented on the board have expressed a commitment to do it and they are willing and ready to finance it,” Silva said at a press conference at the Spanish Embassy offices at the Courtleigh Corporate Centre in New Kingston yesterday.

He said that figure for the first phase of the project, which includes two pitches, classrooms, changing rooms, offices and parking facilities, could be increased if needed.

“It could be less, could be more and of course, if we have other partners that want to join it… the figure might be even higher, because the more partners we have the bigger we can go and the better we can do the installations,” Silva said, adding that his organisation has tentatively budgeted US$100,000 to run the project for the first year.

The academy, which is being erected on land donated by Michelle Rollins and is to be managed by former national goalkeeper Aaron Lawrence, will cater to youngsters between the ages of 7 and 20.

Lawrence said youngsters wishing to join the academy must be averaging at least 50 per cent in their schoolwork.
“So it (the academy) will always be something for them (youngsters) to look at and to do well in school,” the former Reggae Boy explained.

Between 100-150 youngsters from St James, Trelawny, Westmoreland and Hanover are expected to enrol in the programme in the initial phase, with plans for an increase to approximately 350 in the medium to long term.

Lawrence is scheduled to travel to Spain in September to get first-hand knowledge of how Real Madrid operates their football academies.

According to Carlos Aballa, director general of the Real Madrid Foundation who arrived in the island on Sunday, along with former Madrid midfielder Manuel Velazquez, “The academy will transcend purely sports education, extending to social integration, training the youngsters through solidarity, community and social service to ensure they will be able to cope in different aspect of their daily lives and improve short-term job prospects.”

Arbella also said Jamaica is the first non-Spanish speaking country to benefit from the Real Madrid Foundation, which has established Social Integration Schools in Chile, Bolivia, El Salvador, Panama, Argentina, Mexico and Uruguay.

13 Responses to “Real Madrid-styled academy expected by next January”

  1. syed ali said

    hello,my name is ALI .I am basicaly from pakistan.i want to join realmadrid acedemy .i m a die hearted realmadrid fan.plz i want to play for real madrid.plz can some body give me realmadrid president roman celedron contact number, or email address.
    HALA MADRID

  2. emmanuel said

    Gooday to everyone,My name is Emmanuel Isaiah udo i am a player 4rom nigeria,i will like to join realmadrid fc academy am 17 year of age.pls i will like to play with my full hard for the club.i want some body there to give me a chance.
    PLAYER RESUME

    NAME ;EMMANUEL ISAIAH UDO

    DATE OF BIRTH;02/FEBUARY/1990

    PLACE OF BIRTH; LAGOS STATE

    GENDER;MALE

    NATIONALITY;NIGERIA

    PREFERRED FOOT;LEFT(BOTH)

    HEIGHT;5FT/6HINCH

    LANGUAGE;FLUENT[ENGLISH]

    POSITION;WINGER
    ;
    HOBBIES; READING FOOTBALL MAGAZINES, LISTENING TO NEWS.

    ROLE MODELMESSI,ARGEN RUBBEN

    Hellow
    How are u doing , i hope u are fine pls am a teennager ,
    am a nigerian who intend to play professional football pls am 17year of age.
    i will like to be part of your youth team,
    if u can grant me a trial or a chance am just a wasted talent here in nigeria
    I iwill be glad if my wish is granted

  3. kabiru said

    hello

  4. nwankwo monday said

    hi, my name is monday am 4rm nigeria , i will like to play 4 real madrid, am a stronge realmadrid fan in nigeria. pls can help me start my football carier. plz can someone help me tell realmadrid president roman celedron. thanks 4rm momday

  5. ziblim Joel said

    Hi, my name is Joel and am from Ghana. i will be very happy if am given the chance to join your team. am a good footballer and willing to play for your academy.so whatever u will do to help me please do it. hope to hear from u soon

  6. akeem sodiq said

    am a teenager, from nigeria, am 17 years of age,i will happy if you grante me the opportunity to to play for your football academy

  7. emmanuel Says:
    octber 2, 2008 at 4:05 am
    Gooday to everyone,My name is Emmanuel Isaiah udo i am a player 4rom nigeria,i will like to join realmadrid fc academy am 17 year of age.pls i will like to play with my full hard for the club.i want some body there to give me a chance.
    PLAYER RESUME

    NAME ;akeem sodiq

    DATE OF BIRTH;10/DECEMBER/1990

    PLACE OF BIRTH; LAGOS STATE

    GENDER;MALE

    NATIONALITY;NIGERIA

    PREFERRED FOOT;MILDFILDER

    HEIGHT;5FT/6HINCH

    LANGUAGE;FLUENT[ENGLISH]

    POSITION;MILDFILDER
    ;
    HOBBIES; READING FOOTBALL MAGAZINES, LISTENING TO NEWS.

    ROLE MODELMESSI,ARGEN RUBBEN

    Hellow
    How are u doing , i hope u are fine pls am a teennager ,
    am a nigerian who intend to play professional football pls am 17year of age.
    i will like to be part of your youth team,
    if u can grant me a trial or a chance am just a wasted talent here in nigeria
    I iwill be glad if my wish is granted

  8. emmanuel Says:
    octber 2, 2008 at 4:05 am
    Gooday to everyone,My name is AKEEM SODIQ SIMON i am a player 4rom nigeria,i will like to join realmadrid fc academy am 17 year of age.pls i will like to play with my full hard for the club.i want some body there to give me a chance.
    PLAYER RESUME

    NAME ;akeem sodiq

    DATE OF BIRTH;10/DECEMBER/1990

    PLACE OF BIRTH; LAGOS STATE

    GENDER;MALE

    NATIONALITY;NIGERIA

    PREFERRED FOOT;MILDFILDER

    HEIGHT;5FT/6HINCH

    LANGUAGE;FLUENT[ENGLISH]

    POSITION;MILDFILDER
    ;
    HOBBIES; READING FOOTBALL MAGAZINES, LISTENING TO NEWS.

    ROLE MODELMESSI,ARGEN RUBBEN

    Hellow
    How are u doing , i hope u are fine pls am a teennager ,
    am a nigerian who intend to play professional football pls am 17year of age.
    i will like to be part of your youth team,
    if u can grant me a trial or a chance am just a wasted talent here in nigeria
    I iwill be glad if my wish is granted

  9. Moses said

    hi, im a young male from lagos Nigeria who hopes to playing football as an occupation.

  10. the next galaticos said

    Real madRid is the best club..
    once upon i will play there..

    wait me..!!!!

    i will make new galaticos in Real madRid

    i love u so much…

  11. alebiosu abiola said

    am a young talented midfielder aged 14 years.i have a dream of being one of the world’s greatest stars in the nearest future.i will really appreciate it if you can make me one of the players in yoour football academy.this is my mobile number 08030684703

  12. abiola alebiosu said

    am a young talented midfielder with an objective of becoming a world class football star someday.i will really like to join your football academy in order to make my dreams come true.i will really like it if you can allow me to display my God given talent under your noble supervision.this is my telephone number in case you might need more info about me.God bless 08030684703

  13. houcine said

    hhhiii for the great club of realmadrid am mecherihoucine from algeria 18 old i like to join real madrid academy and this my dream I always support realmadrid in my life so my club will never let me like that I play with my right foot like the style of rooben plz for all realmadrid lover help me to fullfil my dream i will wait for respond thanks

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
