DRESONIC-JAMAICAN TRACK & FIELD

SUPPORT OUR JAMAICAN ATHLETES – LEAVE A COMMENT

Akon Attempts Some Sexual Healing

Posted by Dresonic on May 9, 2007

 

Akon intended to get down and dirty, but he didn’t mean to offend.

That’s what the hip-hop star had to say, anyway, on Wednesday when he apologized for engaging in some sexually explicit dance moves with an underage girl at a concert last month in the Caribbean.

A tape of the Apr. 12 show at the Zen nightclub in Port of Spain, Trinidad, ended up on YouTube and was broadcast on local television stations, prompting Verizon to drop Akon as a featured talent and end its sponsorship of Gwen Stefani‘s latest tour, which features the “Smack That” rapper as an opening act.

“I want to sincerely apologize for the embarrassment and any pain I’ve caused to the young woman who joined me onstage, her family and the Trinidad community for the events at my concert,” Akon said in a statement.

“It was never my intention to embarrass or take advantage of my fans in any way, especially those under the age of 18. That is why we tried to make sure that the club did not admit anyone under 18 in the audience. Somehow, that standard was not met.”

The object of Akon’s simulated affection was 15-year-old Danah Alleyne, who explained after the fact that she thought she was being invited to shake it with Akon because she had won a dance contest.

Turned out that the “contest” was unofficial and more of a move to get seven ladies (or six ladies and a girl, it turned out) up on stage.

“I was shocked when Akon pulled me to dance,” Alleyne, a pastor’s daughter, said in a public apology last month after the footage had made the rounds. “I did not know what to do and with the crowd cheering and stuff I guess I got a little carried away. But there was nothing I could have done about it. I was in a state of real shock. I am so sorry for everything.”

Zen was subsequently shut down and investigated by Trinidadian authorities for allowing a minor through its doors, with the island’s prime minister, Patrick Manning, saying he had taken “very careful notice of this matter.”

Outrage and Internet traffic are about all the incident seems to have generated, however.

“The matter seems to be a stalemate, as the people who are responsible have not come forward to support the police in any way. I would say it is completed,” Commissioner of Police Winston Cooper said Monday during a press conference at police headquarters in Port of Spain.

One Response to “Akon Attempts Some Sexual Healing”

  1. your way to beautiful gir. Andreina Cecilio.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
