Record-breaking day at Gibson

Posted by Dresonic on February 25, 2007

NINE records were broken at press time last night at the 31st staging of the Gibson Relays at the National Stadium in Kingston.

The records to fall prior to the finals of the 4×200 and 4×400 metres were the Clubs and Institutions 4×100 metres for men and women; the 4×100 metres for Boys Classes One, Two, Three and Four; the Girls Under-12 prep 4×100 metres; the Boys Under-10 prep 4×60 and the Men’s Open long jump.
If no more records were broken, the incentive package of $250,000 provided by Pepsi-Cola through its Gatorade brand, would be shared nine ways, with each team pocketing J$27,777.
According to statistics provided by the Gibson Relays organisers, 14 records were established in 2006.

The IAAF High Performance Centre team of Alanzo Barrett, Denzil Bailey, Xavier Brown and Usain Bolt clocked 38.70 seconds to erase the old mark of 39.18 done in 2006.

The MVP quartet of Asafa Powell, Michael Frater, Darrel Brown of Trinidad and Tobago and Ainsley Waugh, who clocked a record 38.97secs in the heats, did not finish the final after the baton fell on the last change-over between Brown and Waugh.
Bolt told the Sunday Observer that he was disappointed when the MVP baton fell.

“I am really sorry that their baton fell, because I know I can do well over the 4x100m and I was really looking forward to the battle,” said the World Junior 200-metre record-holder.

The MVP team of South African Geraldien Pillay, Sherone Simpson, Shericka Williams and Brigitte Foster-Hylton posted a record 43.28secs to win the Clubs and Institutions sprint relay. The old mark of 43.60secs was set in 2006, also by MVP.
Anchored by World Junior Champion 100m bronze medallist Yohan Blake, St Jago won the Class One Boys 4×100 in a meet record of 40.07secs, erasing the old mark of 40.38 set by KC last year.

The other members of the team, which also erased Camperdown’s all-time Jamaican high school record of 40.19 (Penn Relays 2006) were Andre Walsh (starter) Ryker Hilton (second) and Mickel Ashmeade.

Calabar returned 41.04 seconds to break the Class Two boys 4×100 metres record – bettering St Jago’s old mark of 41.66 done last year.
Kingston College lowered the Class Three record of 44.04secs (2006) to 43.84secs.

Meanwhile, Herbert McGreggor leapt 7.70 metres to win the Men’s Open long jump to erase the old mark of 7.58m established in 1994 jointly by Ryan Chambers and Ricardo Coleman.
In other field events, Anna-Lisa Myers of Wolmer’s Girls leapt 1.70 metres to win the Open High Jump.

British High Jumper Germaine Mason, formerly of Jamaica, cleared 2.10 metres to win the event. It was his season debut in the event, having run two 400 metres races earlier this year.
Anchored by Jelisa Grant, Vere Technical won the Open girls shuttle hurdle in 56.46secs.

Franklyn Anderson of the University of the West Indies captured the pole vault title in 4.20 metres. Vere’s Kimberley Williams leapt 6.03 metres to win the Women’s long jump ahead of Cuba’s Rianna Martinez 5.95m.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: