Windies lose 2nd one-dayer

Posted by Dresonic on January 25, 2007


CUTTACK, India (AFP) – India’s spinners stopped a tense run chase by the depleted West Indies here yesterday to help the hosts take a 2-0 lead in the four-match series.

India, dismissed for 189, hit back to bowl out a West Indian side missing their inspirational captain Brian Lara for 169 in the day-night international at the Barabati stadium here.

Ramesh Powar and Sachin Tendulkar shared five wickets and Harbhajan Singh finished with 1-29 in 10 overs as India recorded a narrow win by 20 runs.

Left-hander Shivnarine Chanderpaul top-scored for the tourists with 67 before he was last man out, finding little support from the other batsmen in the low-scoring game.
The West Indies badly missed Lara, who skipped the Cuttack game after a chronic left knee injury, leaving opener Chris Gayle to lead the tourists’ bid to level the series.

Lara is expected to play the third match in Chennai on Saturday and the fourth in Vadodara on January 31, the last two matches for the West Indies before they host the World Cup in March and April.

The Windies enjoyed a great start when seamer Daren Powell picked up a career-best 4-27 to restrict India to 189 on a slow, lifeless wicket.

The 28-year-old Jamaican seamer ripped through the top order with the wickets of Sourav Ganguly, Tendulkar and captain Rahul Dravid in his first four overs.

Powell had taken just eight wickets in his previous 12 one-dayers, including a best of 3-33 against Pakistan in Multan in December.

India, reduced to 69-6 at one stage, were revived by a battling 63 from 21-year-old Dinesh Karthick and his 62-run stand for the eighth wicket with Ajit Agarkar.

Agarkar was last man out for 40 after the final four wickets added a valuable 120 runs for the hosts.

The West Indies lost quick wickets just when it appeared the batsmen had settled in. Chanderpaul, who hit a magnificent 149 in Nagpur in a losing cause, once again finished second-best without support from the other end.

Dwayne Bravo hit 31 in a fourth-wicket stand of 43 with Chanderpaul, while Dwayne Smith made 25.

The West Indies, who were 139-5 in the 38th over, lost their last five wickets for 30 runs as India turned on the screws in the crucial final overs.

“It is great to win another one against the West Indies,” said Dravid, whose team had lost six of their last seven matches against Lara’s team before this series.

Gayle praised the bowlers for keeping the Indian batsmen in check, but lamented the lack of batting support to Chanderpaul.

“Shiv was his usual solid self, but no one hung in there enough to build a good partnership,” the stand-in captain said.



G Gambhir c Ramdin b Bradshaw 2
S Ganguly c Morton b Powell 13
R Dravid b Powell 22
S Tendulkar c Bradshaw b Powell 0
D Karthick b Bradshaw 63
M Dhoni c and b Dwayne Smith 6
J Sharma b Powell 1
H Singh b Bravo 6
A Agarkar run out 40
R Powar b Bravo 5
Z Khan not out 7

Extras: (lb3, nb1, w20) 24

Total: 189

Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Gambhir), 2-35 (Ganguly), 3-35 (Tendulkar), 4-46 (Dravid), 5-66 (Dhoni), 6-69 (Sharma), 7-90 (Harbhajan), 8-152 (Karthick), 9-163 (Powar).

Bowling: Bradshaw 10-1-38-2 (nb1, w3), Taylor 10-1-38-0 (w4), Powell 10-2-27-4 (w4), Dwayne Smith 9-1-34-1(w4), Bravo 8.2-1-36-2 (w4), Gayle 1-0-13-0 (w1)

Overs: 48.2

West Indies:

C Gayle lbw b Agarkar 5
S Chanderpaul b Zaheer 67
D Smith run out 15
M Samuels c Gambhir b Harbhajan 1
D Bravo c Gamkbhir b Powar 31
R Morton b Powar 0
Dwayne Smith c Powar b Tendulkar 25
D Ramdin b Powar 6
I Bradshaw c Gambhir b Tendulkar 2
D Powell run out 1
J Taylor not out 2

Extras: (b6, lb3, w5) 14

Total: 169

Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Gayle), 2-41 (Devon Smith), 3-42 (Samuels), 4-85 (Bravo), 5-89 (Morton), 6-139 (Dwayne Smith), 7-151 (Ramdin), 8-163 (Bradshaw), 9-166 (Powell).

Bowling: Zaheer 8.2-0-25-1, Agarkar 8-2-23-1 (w3), Sharma 4-0-16-0, Harbhajan 10-3-29-1, Powar 10-0-42-3 (w1), Tendulkar 8-0-25-2 (w1)

Overs: 48.2

India won by 20 runs

Toss: India

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL) and Amiesh Saheba (IND)

TV umpire: G A Pratapkumar (IND)

Match referee: Alan Hurst (AUS)


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: